The Importance of Positive Relationships for True Happiness

Tiara
2 min readMay 2, 2023

--

“Is it true that you shouldn’t rely on other people for happiness?”

Photo by Devaiah Mallangada Kalaiah on Unsplash

As a human being, I have come to realize that happiness is not just about achieving personal success or material wealth. Rather, it is about having positive and meaningful relationships with other people. Over the years, I have discovered that the quality of my relationships with others has a profound impact on my overall well-being.

Studies have shown that social relationships are among the strongest predictors of happiness (Bartels & Boomsma, 2009). Personally, I have found this to be true in my own life. When I have positive and supportive relationships with others, I feel happier and more fulfilled. I have a sense of belonging and connection that cannot be replaced by anything else.

On the other hand, when my relationships are strained or negative, my mood and overall happiness suffer. I feel isolated, lonely, and disconnected from others. This underscores the importance of having good relationships with other people for our well-being.

However, building and maintaining positive relationships with others is not always easy. It requires effort and investment on our part. We need to be willing to communicate openly and honestly, to listen and show empathy, and to offer support and encouragement. We also need to be willing to forgive and move on from conflicts or misunderstandings.

One of the things I have learned is that having a diverse range of relationships can also contribute to happiness. Having close friends and family is important, but so is having a wider network of acquaintances, colleagues, and even strangers. Engaging with others in our community, volunteering, and participating in group activities can all be ways to broaden our social circles and build positive relationships.

So, happiness is about more than just personal achievement or material success. It is about having positive and meaningful relationships with other people. As humans, we are social creatures and we need connection and community to thrive. By investing in our relationships and being open to new connections, we can experience greater happiness and well-being in our lives.

“True happiness is not found in personal achievements or material possessions, but in the quality of our relationships with others.”

Thank you for reading my thoughts and supporting me. I hope your days are filled with love and happiness. See you!

--

--